Warbonnet Blackbird Hammock Review

In 2015 I decided to take up backpacking. I have always loved being up north, camping and trout fishing. The thought of getting back into nature and getting a lot of exercise appealed to me.

After having trouble with my back while camping I decided to look into using a hammock instead of a tent whenever possible. After looking at Outdoor Gear Lab’s website and reading reviews throughout the Winter I decided to purchase a Warbonnet Blackbird hammock.

warbonnet_logo

Blackbird

They have great customer service and a number of helpful videos to help you become comfortable with hammock camping.

The Warbonnet Blackbird is a great hammock with an attached bug net. My favorite part about this hammock is that you can sleep on your side. I am a side sleeper so this appealed to me. The first time I used it was on an overnight camping trip last year on the Jordan River Pathway.

After hiking up and down hills all day the hammock was just what I needed and I knew that (unless there were no trees) I was not going back to sleeping in a tent.

There is also a “shelf” on the backside of the hammock which is perfect for storing items that you might want to keep handy while relaxing or sleeping.

Here is a recap of the hammock and tarp I use while backpacking:

Warbonnet Blackbird Double Layer Hammock
Cost: $185
Weight: 2 lbs 2 ounces

I also purchased the Warbonnet Mamajamba tarp
Cost: $115
Weight:  17 oz.

The weight and cost are comparable to an ultralight tent.

Accessories you will probably need:
6 stakes ($1.50/ea)
Guyline ($20) 0 Used to string up your rain fly and stake down everything
Stuff sack for stakes ($8)
*All can be purchased right through Warbonnet

Purchasing the hammock and tarp together comes with two free carabiners and a small discount. I also purchased six stakes.

Setting up the hammock takes about 30 seconds. The tarp takes a few minutes as you do have to tie a few knots to attach it to the trees and stake everything down.

If you have any questions or need any advice about getting off the ground just let me know.

Gabe

Leave a Reply

